Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

image35The incredible Helen Elizabeth of the equally incredible blog Good Woman has nominated me for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. Thank you, Helen! As she herself says in her own Award post, blogging is all about building community, and I’m honored to join such a great one. Head on over to Good Woman and check out her beautiful photos, art projects, and writing pieces. Thank you again, Helen. God bless you!

Remember, if you are nominated and choose to accept, the rules are as follows:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, and be sure to link back to their site.
  2. Place the Award logo on your blog.
  3. Answer the 10 questions sent to you.
  4. Make your own list of 10 questions for your nominees.
  5. Nominate 7 blogs.

Get it? Okay, now onto the questions I’m supposed to answer. This post is already looking to be a doozy. My apologies, blogosphere. Put on your reading glasses, make a cuppa, and get comfy.

If you  had no restrictions, on what one thing would you choose to focus your time and attention? Why?

I believe I would study theology and apologetics. I know, I sound like a broken record, but I really do find my Faith interesting, and studying theology and apologetics deeply would certainly help me articulate my own beliefs to others. I fail miserably at this more often than not. I want to better represent the Faith I have so that others would understand and love it too. Sometimes I think I might have liked going to seminary.

What is the hardest thing you have ever had to do?

When I was fifteen, I returned to the NICU where I spent a lot of time as an infant. While I was there, a family was using what the nurses told us was the “quiet room.” When a child dies, the parents go to the quiet room to hold the child and spend time with them. I’m grateful I was able to meet the nurses who helped me, but it was very difficult to see. I am forever thankful that the Lord has blessed me with a life so many of those young children will not have.

What is one thing you have done to make a difference for someone?

In high school I was best friends with a girl whose younger sister has cerebral palsy like me. In a single-parent family with pretty high medical costs, they didn’t have much for Christmas. My friend’s sister still believes in Santa—she’s mentally like a child. Christmas is one of the few holidays she is allowed home from her assisted living facility, and I really wanted them to have a good time. I got together with all the ladies in our church and we put together three baskets—one for my friend, her sister, and their mom. They loved it, and my friends sister was excited that “Ho Ho” visited. It was great experience for everyone involved.

What one talent or personal trait are you most proud of?

I’m most proud of my ability to write. I struggled to hold a pencil and write legibly when I was very young because of my condition, but I quickly developed a love for reading and i wanted to write stories like the ones I’d read. My handwriting still has issues, but I’m happy to say that practice has at least made it legible, and all that reading has helped me develop a good sense of flow and style.

Why do you blog?

iBlog because iEnglish. That’s too corny, isn’t it? Really, I blog because I finally managed to get started on a three-year-long unfulfilled New Year’s resolution. And surprisingly, people actually read my craziness. Who’d have thought? I thought this blog would be a good place to write freely about things that interest me, and I’m enjoying the experience so far.

What one thing do you know that you wish the whole world would understand or accept?

Jesus. That’s a given from my blog genre, though. If I had to pick anything else, I wish people would accept disabled people as people. So often, especially when I’m in a wheelchair, people treat me with less respect than they do my able-bodied friends. It’s an unfortunate reality that people on crutches or in a wheelchair are often assumed to be less capable—physically and mentally—than their “normal” peers. This is just so silly. Disabled people may have to do things differently, but we are just as capable as anyone else of living full, productive, happy lives.

What one thing have you have never done but would love to do some day?

I would love to visit Europe and see the historical and literary things I have studied. Shakespeare’s home and the recreation of the Globe in England, the Coliseum and the Vatican in Rome, the Eiffel Tower and the Basilica of St. Thérèse in France… I could go on. The world is full of so many interesting things I’d love to see.

  Who do you like the most and why?

Again, Jesus, for obvious reasons. I also like my daddy. He’s very smart and knows how to fix everything.

What one possession would you most hate to lose?

I have a bunch of dried flowers from my grandma’s funeral hanging on my bedroom wall at home. Having them there reminds me of her. Soon I will have them framed so I can take them with me whenever I go off to law school.

What motivates you to get out of bed in the morning?

In The Spiritual Combat, Scupoli talks about preparing to face your enemies:

“…Be courageous. Do not be afraid or cowardly. Christ your Captain is here with all the power of Heaven to protect you from the enemy, and to see that they never conquer you, either by brute power, or by trickery. Hold your ground! …Call out for the help of Jesus and Mary and all the Saints…”

Life is hard. It’s difficult when you haven’t slept, are feeling sore from back pain, and struggling with depression to make yourself get up and put clothes on, much less take a test. I look at my crucifix and say a little prayer, put my feet on the ground, and get ready for the day. Jesus carried the cross for me; the least I can do is carry my own. I don’t have to fight every battle—”The Lord is a warrior” (Ex. 15:3), and “The Lord will fight for [me]; [I] have only to keep still” (Ex. 14:14). Jesus never said life would be easy, but he did say it would be worth it.

My Nominations are:

  1. ashlynsully
  2. The Eleventh Letter.
  3. Dignitatem
  4. bennakim
  5. Young and Catholic
  6. 4 Times and Counting
  7. Femmes in STEM

And here are your questions…

  1. If you could describe your life with a quote, what would it be?
  2. What event in history most inspires you? Why?
  3. What is your favorite book? Why?
  4. Everyone knows their favorite color. Why is that color your favorite?
  5. What do you hope to accomplish with your blog?
  6. What event in your life is the most important to you? Why?
  7. From where or from whom do you draw strength when things get hard?
  8. What is the best advice you’ve ever received?
  9. If you could meet one person—living or dead—who would it be and what would you ask them?
  10. What do you most admire about yourself?

Alright then, the long post of doom is over. Thanks again for nominating me, and I look forward to reading the answers of those who accept the nomination! Have an awesome Sunday!

2 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Good Woman

    You have done an absolutely beautiful job on answering all of the questions. You inspire me with your deep faith and also your approach to what has to be tough circumstances. I will enjoy following you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

