Interesting Finds: PIGMA Micron Pens

pigma micron boxI bought these odd pens at the beginning of the year, after reading a lot of internet reviews. I’d originally bought them for marking in my bible, but ended up using them in my planner and textbooks more often! They’ve turned out to be so versatile, I thought I’d share my thoughts with you all. Keep in mind that I bought these pens for myself, so no one is paying me to say nice things. Now, onto the review! 

Usually Used for Art

When I pulled out my pens and started writing dates in my planner, my roommate looked over and asked, “Why do you have those? They’re for drawing.” Yes readers, these are art pens; Sakura even sells a set of black Microns in different sizes for line art. If you draw, you probably already know these exist. Since I can barely manage a straight line, I could care less. However, their pigment-based ink is waterproof, fade-resistant, archival quality, and nearly permanent, so its great for anything you plan on keeping for a long time. Read more here and here.

Useful for Bibles

Because the ink is specifically designed not to bleed through paper, PIGMA Microns are great for bibles. Do a quick Google search, and you’ll find plenty of Micron fans who use them for bible marking. I bought my set not really believing they would be as bible-friendly as people said, but I was wrong. These pens really don’t bleed through thin bible paper, and their variety of colors makes them great for color-coding or inductive bible study. If you own a wide-margin or journaling bible, these pens are wonderful! Check out my test in the Ignatius Bible below.

Colors from the front.

Colors from the front.

The colors in the pack were black, green, red, brown, blue, and purple. With a ruler, these pens make clean, thin lines. The text is still very easy to read. The Microns come in several sizes—these are 01, or .25 mm. 005 is the smallest size available at roughly .20 mm. Mark Bertrand wrote a helpful post on marking in your bible, and it seems most of the commenters like the 01 or 02 size for underlining, and 005 for notes. I normally just highlight or underline in my bibles, but I’ve had no problem writing entries in my planner with the 01 size. The smaller 005 might be best for writing in cramped margins. I’m not going to attempt it in the Ignatius—practically no margins here.

Colors from the back.

Colors from the back.

To the left is the above page from the back. As you can see, there is very little show-through and no bleed-through, even for a heavy-handed writer like me. Keep in mind the Ignatius Bible’s pages are a bit thicker than your average bible paper, so be sure to test somewhere in the concordance or another easily-ignored spot before you go highlighting that life verse you love so much. (I say this for my own benefit…) The purple, blue and red show-through the worst, green the least. However, none of the inks actually bled through. I recently used the black pen to highlight parts of Exodus, and while you can see the underlines on the reverse side of the page, everything is still legible.

Useful for Anthologies

If you don’t care for bible marking, these pens also stand out in an academic context. I’ve spent nearly four years in college studying English and history, which means I did a lot of reading and discussion-based work. If you’ve ever held a Norton anthology—or anything like it—you understand where I’m coming from. Nothing I tried writing with worked on those thin, tissue paper pages. Sure, thin pages means I pay less for my book, but it also means I can’t use a sharpie highlighter without highlighting through three pages. If you’re a writer, scholar, or even just an avid reader who annotates things often, PIGMA Microns are fantastic. They don’t bleed through thin pages, and since the ink is fade-resistant and waterproof, your notes on Jane Eyre and that lab experiment are safe. Honestly, I could have sworn I heard angelic choirs singing when, lo and behold, my annotations hadn’t inked up half the book. Huzzah for humanities!

Though these pens cost a little more than your average Bic pen, I think they’re worth it. Not only are they great for marking in bibles, they also work well on those other finicky papers found in anthologies, textbooks, and planners. If the paper is thin or you need a quality archival grade ink, the Microns are a good choice. I hope this review was helpful! I’m thinking about doing a mini-series on bible study tools and accessories, just because I love pens and office supplies so much. What do you all think? Is there any one thing you find yourself reaching for in bible study?

You can read more about PIGMA Micron pens here, or buy your own set from Amazon. For those of you who enjoy inductive bible study, Sakura also makes an inductive bible study kit. Have a wonderful Sunday, and God bless!

In His Sacred Heart,

Erica

Leave a Reply

